News/January 2019
Operation Black Antler Manchester

 

Operation Black Antler is a site-specific, immersive theatre piece created by Blast Theory and critically celebrated theatre company Hydrocracker. The work invites the audience to enter the murky world of undercover surveillance and question the morality of state-sanctioned spying.

Following acclaimed runs at Brighton Festival, Ideas Test in Kent and HOME Manchester, we are taking the show to London’s Southbank Centre this April.

The ensemble are at the heart of Operation Black Antler (we were nominated for Best Ensemble in the 2018 Manchester Theatre Awards). This play happens up close in one-on-one interactions between audience members and cast.

 

Who’s it for?

We’re looking for a London community ensemble from a wide variety of backgrounds, experiences and age groups. We are interested in working with people who are keen to explore the experience of politics in our local communities, the ethical questions surrounding state surveillance and the possibilities of ground breaking immersive, site-specific theatre techniques. No acting experience is required.

I felt so supported throughout the whole experience. OBA has taught me so much about performing and about myself. The time has gone too quickly but I have made lasting friendships and discovered that anything is possible at any age!” – Elizabeth, Kent Ensemble
Something I will never forget. I feel I have an extended OBA family who have supported me and raised me up as a person and a performer.” – Amyn, Brighton Ensemble
Dates

Due to the intensive nature of the rehearsal process we need commitment to all rehearsals (we can work around the odd clash!) and the majority of performance dates.

 

Rehearsal Dates:

Saturday 9th March 11am-6pm

Wednesday 13th March 6pm-10pm

Saturday 16th March 11am-6pm

Wednesday 20th March 6pm-10pm

Saturday 23rd March 11am-6pm

Wednesday 27th March 6pm-10pm

Saturday 30th March 11am-5pm

Monday 1st April 2pm-11pm

Tuesday 2nd April 2pm-11pm

 

Performance Dates:

Wednesday 3rd April 5pm-11pm

Thursday 4th April 5pm-11pm

Friday 5th April 5pm-11pm

Saturday 6th April 5pm-11pm

Sunday 7th April 5pm-11pm

Tuesday 9th April 5pm-11pm

Wednesday 10th April 5pm-11pm

Thursday 11th April 5pm-11pm

Friday 12th April 5pm-11pm

Saturday 13th April 5pm-11pm

 

With the possibility for extension until Apr 21 from 5pm-11pm
This is a voluntary opportunity and we provide expenses of £15 for each performance date.

 

How to get involved

If you’re interested please sign up to one of our recruitment workshops, taking place in SE1. This will be a relaxed, fun group led workshop. It’s a chance to meet the creative team, hear more about the project and for us to meet you.

 

Please email Associate Director [email protected] hydrocracker.co.uk to sign up for one of the following dates:

Feb 23 10am-1pm / Feb 27 6pm-9pm / Mar 2 10am-1pm

 

Comments ()
What do you think?
- Hide Comments
  1. Dan Lamont
    / Reply

    Hi Caoimhe and Karolina,

    Thanks for getting in touch. Please email [email protected] hydrocracker.co.uk to find out more.

  2. Caoimhe Withers
    / Reply

    I’m interested. Please tell me more

  3. Karolina Gawlik
    / Reply

    Would love to try something new and get involved in a creative team project!